Community > Forum > Fishing Reports > Steelhead & Cutthroat - good now with warmer weather

Steelhead & Cutthroat - good now with warmer weather

Noel
Noel

British Columbia,CA

Posted Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:37 pm
Steelhead & Cutthroat - good now with warmer weather
http://www.noelgyger.ca

Noel Gyger Weekly Fishing Report and Guided Fishing Adventure.
Interested for more info of Noel’s guided fishing trips? E-mail him at: noel@noelgyger.ca
March 6 to March 13, 2011

- FULL FISHING REPORT: http://www.noelgyger.ca/weekly-fishing-reports/mar-6-13_2011.pdf

- SUMMARY FISHING REPORT: Considering it is still winter the weather was pretty good all week.

Skeena River is in good shape but full of ice flows and frozen over in spots. Be very careful walking on the ice ledges! There may be some Steelhead wintering over in some locations. The Trout and Dolly Varden Char are available year round.

Kalum River is in good shape and fishing for Steelhead is excellent.

Zymoetz (Copper) River is in poor shape and fishing for Steelhead is poor. The upper section closed for fishing on January 1st.

Lakelse River is in fair shape and fishing for Steelhead and Trout is fair. Lake ice fishing is good. Cold weather does not seem to deter the ice fishermen. Beware of thin ice!

Kitimat River is iced up and snowed in. This has caused the river to be reduced to narrow channels. Despite these conditions, some crazy anglers still went fishing.

Douglas Channel: I have not heard anyone fishing the Douglas Channel at all this week. Many anglers are upset about the current Halibut Policy. The 2011 Halibut Season will close some time in the summer but DFO does not know when. This makes it impossible for Saltwater Anglers to book holidays or days off to fish for Halibut. This Conservative Halibut Policy is affecting all Recreation angler's ability to enjoy this Canadian resource especially folks who must travel long distances.

Prince Rupert: With the exception of the snow this past week, it is starting feel more and more like spring. The Eulachon run is now entering the Skeena River system, which is normally a sign of good times to come. The larger Chinook Salmon will start to show up around Porcher and Stevens Island soon and Halibut will start to look for a meal a little closer to the Skeena River Mouth.

Website http://www.noelgyger.ca website sponsors:

Redl Sports www.redlsports.com
Normark www.rapala.ca
Simms www.simmsfishing.com
Tuf Line www.tuf-line.com
Baitrix www.baitrix.com
Pure Fishing www.purefishing.com
Ace Line Hauler www.acelinehauler.com
Islander Reels www.islander.com
Lyman Lures www.lymanlures.com
Scotty www.scotty.com
Bubba’s Bait Barn www.bubbasbaitbarn.com
Gibb-Delta www.gibbsfishing.com
Shimano http://fish.shimano.com
Power Pro http://powerpro.com
G.Loomis www.gloomis.com
Kitimat Lodge www.kitimatlodge.com
Breck’s www.brecksinc.com
Pro Troll www.protroll.com
Dolly’s Fish Market www.dollysfishmarket.com
Great Pacific Salmon Lodge www.greatpacificsalmonlodge.com
Dolly’s Fish Market www.dollysfishmarket.com
Great Pacific Salmon Lodge www.greatpacificsalmonlodge.com


If you would like to book a comfortable, warm Charter Boat for Winter Chinook and Dungeness Crab in Kitimat or Prince Rupert please contact me noel@noelgyger.ca anytime.

GOOD LUCK and GOOD FISHING!

Yours sincerely,

Noel F. Gyger

Guided Fishing Adventures and Weekly Fishing Report
E-mail: noel@noelgyger.ca
Home Page: www.noelgyger.ca
Fishing Reports: www.noelgyger.ca/past-fishing-reports.htm
Sign-up for Weekly Fishing Report: www.noelgyger.ca/subscribers_form.htm for Smithers, Terrace, Kitimat, Prince Rupert and Meziadin North
News Bulletins: http://www.noelgyger.ca/news-bulletin.htm
RECORD SALMON & STEELHEAD Spin or fly-fishing
RIVER, LAKE, STREAM or OCEAN!!!
Follow Noel Gyger updates on Twitter: http://twitter.com/guided_fishing
"You meet the nicest people on the river banks"

To sign-up to receive these fishing reports to your personal e-mail in-box click here: http://www.noelgyger.ca/subscribers_form.htm
Bookmark and Share

Dec 18,2014

Made the cover Finally!

Dec 17,2014

ASJ December 2014

Dec 16,2014

fat slob pickerel

Dec 14,2014

last of the year

fishing tournament walleye redfish largemouth bass smallmouth bass fishing tournaments fishing tournament walleye redfish largemouth bass smallmouth bass fishing tournaments fishing tournament walleye redfish largemouth bass smallmouth bass fishing tournaments