Community > Forum > Fishing Reports > GOOD weather = GOOD steeheading

GOOD weather = GOOD steeheading

Noel
Noel

British Columbia,CA

Posted Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:57 am
GOOD weather = GOOD steeheading
http://www.noelgyger.ca

Noel Gyger Guided Fishing Adventures and Weekly fishing Report

March 13 to 20, 2011

FULL REPORT: http://www.noelgyger.ca/weekly-fishing-reports/mar-13-20_2011.pdf

SUMMARY: Weather was excellent all week. Lots of sun shine and warmer than average day time temperatures. Fishing Guiding started on March 15th on the Kalum River.

Skeena River is in good shape but full of ice flows and frozen over in spots. Be very careful walking on the ice ledges! There may be some Steelhead wintering over in some locations. The Trout and Dolly Varden Char are available year round.

Kalum River is in good shape and fishing for Steelhead is excellent.

Zymoetz (Copper) River is in fair shape and fishing for Steelhead is slow. The upper section closed for fishing on January 1st.

Lakelse River is in fair shape and fishing for Steelhead and Trout is fair.

Lake ice fishing is good. Beware of thin ice!

Kitimat River is iced up and snowed in. This has caused the river to be reduced to narrow channels. Despite these conditions, some anglers still went fishing. The warmer weather will help the situation. Trout fishing this week was excellent.

Douglas Channel; I have not heard anyone fishing the Douglas Channel at all this week but they will be heading out soon with the warmer weather. Many anglers are upset about the current Halibut Policy. The 2011 Halibut Season will close some time in the summer but DFO does not know when. This makes it impossible for Saltwater Anglers to book holidays or days off to fish for Halibut. This Conservative Halibut Policy is affecting all Recreation angler's ability to enjoy this Canadian resource especially folks who must travel long distances. See Important Halibut Information in the FULL REPORT.

Prince Rupert: With the beautiful weather were having it looks and sounds like this weekend should see lots of fisherman heading out for some fun on the water. Everybody is getting their boats dusted off and ready for another season. Can’t wait for the fishing reports to start rolling in. Check out the Jeff Carson report below.

If you would like to book a guided fishing trip on ocean and rivers please contact me Noel Gyger noel@noelgyger.ca anytime.


Redl Sports www.redlsports.com
Normark www.rapala.ca
Simms www.simmsfishing.com
Tuf Line www.tuf-line.com
Baitrix www.baitrix.com
Pure Fishing www.purefishing.com
Ace Line Hauler www.acelinehauler.com
Islander Reels www.islander.com
Lyman Lures www.lymanlures.com
Scotty www.scotty.com
Bubba’s Bait Barn www.bubbasbaitbarn.com
Gibb-Delta www.gibbsfishing.com
Shimano http://fish.shimano.com
Power Pro http://powerpro.com
G.Loomis www.gloomis.com
Kitimat Lodge www.kitimatlodge.com
Breck’s www.brecksinc.com


Dolly’s Fish Market www.dollysfishmarket.com
Great Pacific Salmon Lodge www.greatpacificsalmonlodge.com
Pro Troll www.protroll.com

GOOD LUCK and GOOD FISHING!

Yours sincerely,

Noel F. Gyger

Guided Fishing Adventures and Weekly Fishing Report
E-mail: noel@noelgyger.ca
Home Page: www.noelgyger.ca
Fishing Reports: www.noelgyger.ca/past-fishing-reports.htm
Sign-up for Weekly Fishing Report: www.noelgyger.ca/subscribers_form.htm for Smithers, Terrace, Kitimat, Prince Rupert and Meziadin North
RECORD SALMON & STEELHEAD Spin or fly-fishing
RIVER, LAKE, STREAM or OCEAN!!!
Follow Noel Gyger updates on Twitter: http://twitter.com/guided_fishing
"You meet the nicest people on the river banks"

To sign-up to receive these fishing reports to your personal e-mail in-box click here: http://www.noelgyger.ca/subscribers_form.htm
Bookmark and Share

Oct 29,2014

5 lb. + Smally

Oct 29,2014

green hammer jr?

Oct 29,2014

First fly success!

Oct 26,2014

CAPTAIN RON STRIKES AGAIN!

fishing tournament walleye redfish largemouth bass smallmouth bass fishing tournaments fishing tournament walleye redfish largemouth bass smallmouth bass fishing tournaments fishing tournament walleye redfish largemouth bass smallmouth bass fishing tournaments